Amy Dresner

AUTHOR

My Fair Junkie Photo Gallery

WAITING FOR DISMISSAL

I NEED NEW SNEAKERS NOW, BUT AT LEAST I’M NOT IN JAIL

PAINTING THE TOWN RED

PANHANDLER HONESTY

THE ELEGANT CLEAN TEAM UNIFORM

MY GENERAL MOOD IN EARLY SOBRIETY

WHO SAYS CUTTING AND TIC TAC TOE DON’T MIX?

TOOLS OF THE TRADE

THE STREETS DON’T LIE

GRAFFITI WISDOM: LOVE IS BIGGER THAN MONEY

GENTILE CHARITY

SOBER LIVING SELFIE 2015

LOVE CAN BE FOUND ANYWHERE

A TYPICAL MORNING WALK TO THE CHAIN GANG

A TYPICAL MORNING WALK TO THE CHAIN GANG

EVERYTHING REMINDS ME OF SEX…EVEN THE CITY DUMP

THIS IS AFTER I TAKE MY SHOES AND SOCKS OFF FROM A DAY ON THE CHAIN GANG


MY FAIR JUNKIE

A MEMOIR OF GETTING DIRTY AND STAYING CLEAN
by AMY DRESNER

Publication Date: September 12, 2017
Available for Pre-Order
“Dresner’s book is a sickening masterpiece. Hilarious and raw, she cuts to bony truth. I love her!” – Margaret Cho, Comedian


In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman’s twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiending addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with daddy’s money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve of 2011, all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly “brandished” a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for “felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon.” Within months, she found herself in the psych ward–and then penniless, divorced and looking out on a court-ordered 240 hours of community service. For the next two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard “chain gang,” she would sweep up syringes (and worse) on Hollywood Boulevard as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her 40s.

Available from any of these fine outlets