Amy Dresner

AUTHOR

MY FAIR JUNKIE

A MEMOIR OF GETTING DIRTY AND STAYING CLEAN
by
AMY DRESNER

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman’s twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiending addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did. Smart and charming, with daddy’s money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve of 2011, all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly “brandished” a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for “felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon.” Within months, she found herself in the psych ward–and then penniless, divorced and looking out on a court-ordered 240 hours of community service. For the next two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard “chain gang,” she would sweep up syringes (and worse) on Hollywood Boulevard as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her 40s.

Available from any of these fine outlets

Amy Dresner

Amy Dresner is a former professional stand-up comic, having appeared at The Comedy Store, The Laugh Factory, and The Improv. Since 2012, she has been a contributing editor of the online addiction and recovery magazine TheFix.com. She’s also written for the Good Men Project, The Frisky, Refinery 29, and has been a regular contributor to Addiction.com and PsychologyToday.com, where she has her own addiction blog entitled “Coming Clean.”

“Full Disclosure: Amy Dresner is the prodigal daughter of one of my oldest and dearest friends. And Full Disclosure would be an acceptable alternate title for My Fair Junkie, her chronicle of her journey to hell and back, a round trip she’s made way too many times. Because Amy is who she is, the story she tells is hysterically funny at one moment and utterly harrowing the next—and often manages to be both those things at once.”Lawrence Block, award winning crime-writer, author of “The Sins of the Fathers” and more books and short stories than I can name.